Creator vs. Consumer

The Struggleother.jpg

It’s been a while since I’ve written a post because, simply put, I just haven’t had any time. I work full-time at a job I love, but leaves me exhausted by the time I get home most days. This past week, I haven’t even been working because I was chosen (lucky me!) to sit on a jury. That had to be one of the most mentally taxing thing I’ve ever done. The case was pretty boring and the effort it took to pay attention and keep all the facts straight was incredible. I have had some free time, when I’m not actually just brain dead, but whatever time I’ve had has been spent rediscovering my need to create.

Deep down, I am an artist (I use the term liberally, considering how much time I just spent on a simple Photoshop project). I started this page as a way to engage in discussions about all the good stuff that is out there. The result shouldn’t surprise me, but it did. Talking about art makes me want to produce. Which is what I’ve been doing in every spare moment I’ve had.

My husband and I recently finished editing our first podcast episode. Sitting down and talking to each other seemed simple enough, but I don’t think either of us anticipated the additional work that would go into it. Luckily, he’s an audio wizard, so I’ve been putting together all the graphics. We also plan on recording a new theme song for every episode, which I am super excited about. We rarely get the chance to play together any more. I’m also working on some art for his site and tweeting like a crazy person. Even if no one is listening, I forgot how much fun it is to yell into the abyss.

So, I guess my point is, it’s hard work creating an online personality. Every day when I get home, I hop on my laptop and pretty much work until I go to bed (with a break for Jeopardy!/dinner). I’m loving every second of it, but I haven’t been able to watch much TV. I guess I can’t complain too much, but I do miss it. I’m preparing for a weekend of couch-surfing, big time.

Leave a Reply

