Movies 25-30

Movies 25-30.jpg

In the craziness that has been my life these past couple of weeks, I did manage to watch a few movies and even made it to the theater. I definitely won’t watch 200 a year at this rate, but I’m sure going to try. Let’s see how the summer treats me.

#25: Blue Mountain State: The Rise of Thadland – I’m not ashamed to admit that I’ve seen every episode of the show. I was even happy that this crowdfunded movie gave the creators a chance to round out the story that should’ve ended with a fourth season that never came. So, what did I learn? BMS works best in half-hour spurts. The plot of the movie, much like Thadland itself, got more bleak with each passing minute. It was nice to recall all my favorite quirks about the show, though. If anything, it reintroduced “sloots” to my vocabulary.

#26: Spy – I like Melissa McCarthy a lot, but sometimes her schtick can get a bit overplayed (take Bridesmaids, for example). Her movies can be very hit or miss, but her work with Paul Feig has hit a groove. Every second of Spy is a joy to watch. I like that her character got to grow a bit from awkward (assumed) cat-lady to full-blown badass. Jason Statham was great, too. He seemed to be channeling his comedic side left over from Crank. The movie worked well as a comedy and spy homage and I’m hopeful to see a sequel.

#27: 10 Cloverfield Lane – I haven’t seen Cloverfield, so I can’t really compare it to its spiritual sequel. I do know that, much like a certain Kevin Smith movie I watched recently, this is a two for one and I like one plot much more than the other. The movie could have ended 20 minutes earlier and it would have been perfect. I didn’t need anything that came after. The psychological thriller and the awesomeness of John Goodman are why I would recommend this movie. That’s about all I can say without getting into spoilers.

#28: Burke & Hare – This was a nice palate-cleanser after 10 Cloverfield Lane. As I write this, I’m realizing that I don’t remember much of it. Simon Pegg is always funny and Isla Fisher was unexpected (I didn’t realize that was her on the cover) and great! The movie had some great broad comedy to lighten up the dark humor (Stephen Merchant’s face can be bottled as comedy gold). Anyway, I was amused, but not interested enough to find out how much of it was actually true.

#29: Léon: The Professional – I’ve been wanting to see this movie for some time. I usually don’t go this far back in time when I want to see something because I tend to prefer movies made this century. (If I sound young saying this, I’m not; I just wasn’t blessed with a great attention span and prefer faster pacing.) I became interested in The Professional when I spoiled it for myself. There’s a song by Alt-J called “Matilda” and, while reading the lyrics on Genius, I learned it’s about this movie, specifically the ending. The first line of the song is “this is from Matilda”. Few movies can pull off this amount of charm and violence simultaneously. It’s no wonder Natalie Portman is a great actress when you see how talented she was at such a young age. Luc Besson’s directing is a study of how to make a movie look good. It’s so good that I can ignore the overpowering score.

#30: Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn – I put this on at midnight thinking I would fall asleep watching it. I watched the whole thing, so I guess that’s something. I don’t play a lot of Halo, but I thought they did a decent job of making a live-action view of its world. This was originally a web-series, so most of the complaints about it make sense considering the budget. Of course, it spent more time on the cadets than in the actual war. I thought the military school stuff, though trite, was well done. When Master Chief does show up, it’s kind of a nice surprise, but he does most of his fighting off-screen. The effects that you do get to see are amazing for what it’s worth. If you don’t know anything about the Halo games, this movie will leave you disappointed. It’s definitely fan-service. Upside, I finally figured out why Windows’ virtual assistant is named Cortana.

 

Leave a Reply

