Update: December 2016

new-hampshire-welcome-sign.jpg
The badass-est State Motto

Well, I fell off the face of the planet. Not really, but here’s what happened:

I started a new job. Moved to a new state, while still working in the former state effectively doubling my daily commute. Completely changed my work/chill/sleep pattern. Continued my Hamilton obsession. Continued my Overwatch obsession. Watched a bunch of TV. Ate a bunch of turkey. Traveled for a conference for my new job. And how is it December already?

That was the past 3 months or so. Did I get to watch any movies? I think so. I’ve been periodically updating my list of movies watched this year – which is to say ,when I watch a movie and remember, I add it to the list – but I’m telling myself that I must have left a few off along the way. I probably have, but the real problem is that I set myself up with a pretty huge goal. 100 movies in 1 year. It’s not impossible, but the timing wasn’t right for me. As of right now, my list is at 46 with Doctor Strange as the last entry. 46 ain’t bad. If I get in 2 more before the end of the year, it will be 4 movies a month which is almost 1 a week. (Once I start with numbers, I can’t stop.)

newsroom.png
The Newsroom, HBO

But there’s so much good television. It’s kind of hard to ignore. Even if I swore off a million different shows, there’s always something new to draw me in. I blame Netflix. I really do. My current roster of shows to binge starts with Daredevil (almost through season 2, so close to done) and The Newsroom, which I just started and I’m loving. If it were up to me I would have zipped through these shows, but I’m watching with my husband who is less inclined to set aside a full day to watch television (weird, I know).

This is too long for one of my signature parentheticals, so just consider this paragraph a long aside: Does this happen to anyone else? Obviously, I’m a bit obsessed with moving pictures of people on screens. I care a lot about shows, movies, games and such. My husband, on the other hand, doesn’t feel as connected to them. He says he doesn’t care if I watch a show without him, but it’s not really true. I know that I’ll have to fill him in on anything he missed, which makes it harder for me to enjoy because I feel like I have to take notes to relay important details. And even so, I feel bad because I want him to get the full experience that I cherish so much. So what do I do? If I know he has stuff to do, I’ll watch something I think he won’t enjoy, but he still gets sucked in. It’s quite the conundrum.

Anyhow, that’s what I’ve been up to. I started watching Gilmore Girls to refresh my memory before I watch the new season. It’s been such a blast to reminisce and I hope to be able to write about the experience of reliving these memories. There are also a couple of shows that debuted on Netflix that I’ve watched and want to discuss. All of this in addition to maybe putting up some impressions about the movies I remembered to keep track of over the past couple of months makes for a pretty good list to get this page up and running again.

In other news, I’ll be writing more about games too. I could be writing for my favorite gaming community, XoneBros, on their website. I’m hoping everything works out and I’m able to join their blog at the beginning of next year. I was nervous about it at first, but as I’m writing this, I’m remembering that the hardest part is opening the page. The fingers get moving and words come out. Thanks for reading if you’ve made it this far. More ramblings are definitely on the way.

Leave a Reply

