“Guns and Ships” from Hamilton

There are differing opinions on whether or not this is the fastest song in the history of musical theater, but it is without a doubt breakneck speed at points. I try to read along to spot mistakes when I make these videos, and I had to pause more than a few times. I hope people see/hear some lyrics they couldn’t get before.

A note: I’m not sure if he actually says “fluent in French, ami” (most sites have it as “I mean”), but that’s how I’ve always heard it et je l’aime comme ça.

Favorite Lines

  • Everyone give it up for America’s favorite fighting FRENCHMAN!!!
  • Makin’ red coats redder with blood stains.
  • No one has more resilience or matches my practical, tactical brilliance.- and all the aspiring rappers out there just got day jobs.

Leave a comment